Vintage 1

5 Sep

The first dress! Oh boy!

Drawing time: 57 minutes
Times cheated and used the mouse: 2 (on the collar and when resizing the pattern)
Number of layers: 9

As the caption says, here’s the first dress. I’ve done a preview so you can see what it will look like on the doll because I always want to see what it will look like.

I don’t really know what else to write except that I’ve probably picked the worst time ever to start this project. I have a book coming out at the beginning of October and I need to do a lot of work for it.  That’s probably why I’ve decided to do this though; as a sort of mini therapy. I find drawing very soothing, even when it’s the annoying fight with the graphics tablet.  I’ve actually been debating this project for a couple of weeks and tried to resist it, but in the end it was too demanding. So, I guess we’ll see what happens.

Today’s piece is a take off from an outfit in the 7 in 1 doll set. I found it on the internet, so I don’t know any history on it.

Click the image below to get the full size view, the right click and Save As.

As you can see, the gloves went, and the skirt got shortened. Rain seems to have a thing for short skirts.  I managed to actually snag the plaid pattern from the collar and turn it into a seamless tile, then flood fill the collar and edging with it. Maybe I’m weird, but I like the orange plaid.

That’s all for today. Be back tomorrow!

Fav song of the moment – “One Night” – Goo Goo Dolls

Leave a Reply

