Dress 75

21 Sep

Though the weather app, google weather, and every other weather source I can find says it’s sunny with no chance of rain (even the radar shows nothing) I am sitting nervously under cloud cover. Why nervously? Because I slathered a bunch of paint remover on the house (It makes it soooooo much easier to get that paint off – and this is an “all natural” stuff [sure] that doesn’t have harmful fumes or require breathing masks or any of the rest of it) and if it rains said paint remover (at 1$ a square foot) will wash away. NOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Why did I put it on? because it WAS sunny. And every resource said it would stay sunny. So, for the first time in my life I am hoping it does NOT rain. Feel free to hope with me.

Anyway, today’s outfit is for Katelina  (You can get her here).

Here’s the pin it’s based on.

click for full size then right click and save as

click for full size then right click and save as

Katelina is happy to have some “normal” clothes for a change. Though she looks meaty in them – to be fair she looks meaty in everything. The brother and I were discussing that. Unlike the Jo doll, Katelina is based on a real person (though I still shaved inches off all over because she looked huge on paper even though in real life the model is maybe a size 8), and I think we’re all so used to the insanely skinny “cartoon” women that to see a drawing that is even close to normal or realistic proportions just looks wrong. Add to that that her head is the normal size instead of being the too-big anime style, and she looks even chunkier.

Now here’s the really fascinating thing: if given a choice, as a chunky-in-real-like/we-should-all-be-nicer-to-people-who-aren’t-models gal, I still prefer the hyper-skinny Jo doll or even the totally out of proportion Esthme doll to make clothes for because they are “prettier”. I find Katelina sort of manly and in-elegant and know that no matter what I dress her in she will never look svelte and sexy. (Kind of like me – ha ha!)

I find this interesting because it demonstrates the societal bias I have unwittingly soaked up over the years, despite my desire to be more enlightened, and it also demonstrates the sort of bias we all have on everything, from people to coffee cups. Our definitions of pretty might be different, but everyone is first attracted to the object that is formed with their preferred aesthetic. I think the interesting question is where do e get these aesthetics from? Why do i find the hyper-thin, anime style people more attractive?Is it because I loved anime as a small child? (I always thought that the Amalthia in the Last Unicorn was beautiful) Or was I born with these preconceived ideas (perhaps from a past life?) and simply found an attraction to the cartoons that held a pre-created aesthetic?

Too deep for a paper doll post, so I end it here.

Happy paper dolling!

sig

3 Responses to “Dress 75”

  1. Juli Hoffman September 22, 2015 at 6:54 am #

    She looks fine to me. Int this outfit, she kind of has “teenager” proportions. Hoping it doesn’t rain. Fingers crossed.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dress 77 | Paper Doll Dress a Day - September 24, 2015

    […] wearing outfit 75 under […]

Leave a Reply

