Dress 77

24 Sep

I spent ALLLLLL friggin’ day today working on formatting the Ink Slingers’ Halloween Anthology – well, all day that I was at the computer. There were a lot of interruptions. The basement flooded (it’s only about a quarter to a half inch and only in the first room, but it begs the question: Where did the water come from?), then I had to help hubby go to Red Oak to fetch some crates (His workplace gives them away regularly and he wanted to grab them before they got wet.) Then we stopped at Stanton’s compost yard to look for cement blocks, but when we went to go to Villisca’s it was all under water.  mean seriously flooded. After the rain today it’s no wonder.

I could go on, but you don’t care. So…

Anyway, today’s dress is not a dress – it’s a coat and it’s for Katelina  (You can get her here).

Here’s the pin it’s based on.

click for full size then right click and save as

click for full size then right click and save as

(She’s wearing outfit 75 under that)

When I was a kid, a lack of coats for dolls was always something that bugged me. And a lack of pajamas and swim suits. How could they go to the beach – an important pastime in the 80s – without a swim suit? And how could they get ready for bed without pajamas? And how in the world could they go out in the cold without a coat? Luckily my very cool mom taught me how to make coats that could go over their clothes (If you leave the coat open but stretch the collar so it goes straight behind the neck you can hang it over them). No, this is not one of those because the design didn’t lend itself to it. Maybe I’ll do one for someone later.

My mother was very cool when it came to artsy things – drawing, painting, writing. She taught me how to do a lot of things, like ruffles, for instance, or the above mentioned coats, or that if you use plastic wrap or cellophane you can actually make see-through paper doll clothes. (this would not work with a print out, needless to say).

Anyway, it’s late and I’m behind, so I am outta here.

Happy Paper dolling!

sig

P.S. A new doll may be in the future – can you guess who it is?

3 Responses to “Dress 77”

  1. Juli Hoffman September 24, 2015 at 6:04 am #

    Could the new doll be…Verchiel? Of course it’s flooding, Jo, you’re trying to paint. *sigh*

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. At Least I Wrote a Sentence | - September 24, 2015

    […] putting the anthology together. i already complained talked about my lack of accomplishments today over on the paper doll blog where Katelina got a cool coat, so I won’t rehash it. The pics of the flooded compost yard are […]

Leave a Reply

